Travellers Quest Logo

Login to Travellersquest

Please log in using your user id or email address to post or reply to reviews, join discussion forums and/or to use all the features of Travellersquest.com

X

Business Login

Please log in using your email address and password to post your deals and programs, to reply to reviews, and/or to use all the features of Travellersquest.com

X

Create an account

X

Already a Member? Sign In

Join Travellersquest

X

Already a Member? Sign In

get more quotes now

Write a Review

You can review any provider of Study Abroad, Volunteer Abroad, Internship Abroad, TEFL abroad, language Abroad, and other meaningful travels. Now write your review by searching the provider by name.

If the provider you want to review is not listed,, please click here

Or  
Sort Reviews By:
  • Write Review
    review
    Kenya
    Internship Abroad
    katy007

    ELI Abroad

    fantastic internship experience with Eli Abroad

    had a great experience with ELI. Rosemary (the in-country coordinator) was great, and she was responsive to all of my needs and concerns. Also, I really enjoyed my time at the hospital, and I learned a lot. The only thing I would say is that, at the hospital, you need to be proactive. The doctors are very busy, so they might not go out of their way to make sure you have something to do. But they are also very nice and knowledgeable, so if you make an effort to get to know them, it will pay off. I really feel that I benefitted for participating in this internship, and I would definitely do it again with ELI! Additionally, the living conditions were great. My host family was very welcoming, they had a nice room for me, and they took care of me and all my needs very well throughout my stay in Nakuru. If you're looking for an internship or volunteer experience in Kenya, I'd highly recommend ELI.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 3
  • Write Review
    review
    Kenya
    Volunteer Abroad
    Norman Bruce

    Global Crossroad

    Amazing Experience in Orphanage Project in Kenya

    I was stunned with the first glance of wild Kenya right after arriving there. My experience with the orphanage will be unforgettable moment of life. It was great sharing my experiences and skills with kids. Thanks Global Crossroad.

    By: Norman Bruce
    Posted: Jul 06 2016
    Moreover, I'd like to thank all the local staffs in Kenya.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 2
  • Write Review
    review
    Vietnam
    Volunteer Abroad
    Sofia Alison

    ELI Abroad

    Medical Volunteering in Vietnam

    I volunteered in Da Lat at the Pasteur Institute in Jan/Feb 2012 and it was a fabulous experience! ELI did so much to help me out and the in-country staff was outstanding. My translator Vi and I were best buddies by the end and it was such a great experience to spend time with her. The clinic was busy and welcomed me as best as can be expected. I thoroughly enjoyed the month I spent working with ELI and would highly recommend this company to anyone looking for an outstanding volunteer experience in Vietnam!!


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Vietnam
    Volunteer Abroad
    Sofia Alison

    ELI Abroad

    Medical Volunteering in Vietnam

    I volunteered in Da Lat at the Pasteur Institute in Jan/Feb 2012 and it was a fabulous experience! ELI did so much to help me out and the in-country staff was outstanding. My translator Vi and I were best buddies by the end and it was such a great experience to spend time with her. The clinic was busy and welcomed me as best as can be expected. I thoroughly enjoyed the month I spent working with ELI and would highly recommend this company to anyone looking for an outstanding volunteer experience in Vietnam!!


    Flag
       
    Helpful 2
  • Write Review
    review
    Argentina
    Volunteer Abroad
    Patricia1

    Voluntario Global

    Great teaching volunteering experiences with Voluntario Global

    Being part of Voluntario teaching English to school\'s team was or is still great. I was involved in many events, either from Voluntario Global or the city of Buenos Aires. I experienced the culture of Argentina and lived what the people of the country live through; met and talked to people with different social statuses and exchanged experiences and information about life.I got to teach English to different adults and learnt a lot from their experiences. \n\nOverall, it was an awesome experience. Sure, there were technical problems, but as a whole, Voluntario Global and the volunteers managed to solved it quickly.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Greece
    Study Abroad
    Sofia Alison

    Athena Study Abroad

    Amazing experience with Athena Abroad

    My time in Greece was absolutely spectacular. I had the experience of a life time. Athena Abroad and HISA did an amazing job of making sure the program was the perfect balance of exploration and learning. There was never a dull day in Greece; we were always on an adventure. The classes at HISA were also great. They were very personalized and small, which created a great learning environment. Overall it was an incredible program, and I would do it all over again in a heartbeat.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Brazil
    Volunteer Abroad
    Patricia1

    World Endeavors

    Teaching children in Brazil through World Endeavors

    My four month experience as a volunteer at an orphanage not too far from the center of the city was undoubtedly the most incredible and invaluable one of my life. I could not have been happier with my experience there and I was truly devastated when the time came to leave. At the risk of sounding very dramatic, my experience at World Endeavors proved to be the best decision of my life and made me realize what it was I want to do with my life. I of course cannot account for everyone who works with the organization, but I cannot stress enough the impact my time at the orphanage had on me. My memories there will stay with me forever and I am absolutely determined to go back.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    France
    Study Abroad
    Sam Hemmings

    World Endeavors

    Study Abroad experience with World Endeavor

    I really enjoyed everything I learned while in France. It sometimes seemed that the workload was not at all strenuous and it seemed easier for me there than it is in the US. But we were also required to be in class for a greater number of hours per week, so I believe that they compensated for that by giving us less homework. Their teaching methods seemed to be very similar to those that I've encountered in America and I did learn quite a lot.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Brazil
    Volunteer Abroad
    Patricia1

    World Endeavors

    i'll volunteer again through World Endeavors

    I never thought the impact that my work as a volunteer would have, in the community and myself. The experience was so satisfactory in so many ways. The community, the people that work in world Endeavors, the places, the friendship, everything. I recommend 100% this experience. Thank you World Endeavors.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Ghana
    Volunteer Abroad
    Sam Hemmings

    Orphanaid Africa

    meaningful experience in Ghana

    When I first touched down in Accra and walked out of the airport I did not know what to expect or what the next 2 weeks would hold for me. I can honestly say in the short period of time I was able to get to spend time with a large amount of the children from the home, go out and really observe yet experience what the Ghanaian culture had to offer in Kpando and Accra. I went on this mission trip with the intentions on touching those I met but in reality they touched me in ways I could never describe. The experience was extremely humbling and it was amazing to compare a country that had very little but were the happiest in comparison to mine that is quite fortunate yet unappreciative and stressful. I enjoyed being careless and living life day by day. They taught me to appreciate all of my blessings and look at my glass as half full and never empty. The host family was great. Mary did the best she could to accommodate our meals that were always very much on time (ironically) for 12pm lunch and 6pm dinner. I personally brought bars which I brought for breakfast and snacking. I felt very safe in my environment even when walking along at night I never feared for my safety in Kpando walking from the children's home to the host home. The local ABV Coordinator was great as far as a volunteer and I enjoyed their company. The coordinator is a very passionate man and I admire how he puts his heart and soul into what he does. He is usually busy running around trying to keep all of their projects running as well with helping the locals in his community. I was surprised the most with how approachable the people in the community were. Coming from Boston where people go about their day without greeting strangers which was a pleasant surprise. I enjoyed the kids in the neighborhood most. They were so happy to see new faces and would randomly go up to me to hug me or greet me while I was walking and I love it.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Costa Rica
    Volunteer Abroad
    Patricia1

    Maximo Nivel

    Volunteering with coffee farmers in Costa Rica

    FABULOUS summarizes my experience with Máximo Nivel in Costa Rica. It's an organization that meets absolutely all conditions required for a volunteer to do their jobs optimally. I highlight the infrastructure and equipment, additional services such as English classes (in my case), cafeteria, among others, but above all, emphasized the team in each of the strata composing Máximo is a high level professional and human, commitment to their work, empathy, warmth, the re-solvent in the large and in detail to, among other things. I'm very grateful to each of the people with whom I interacted during my three weeks with Máximo. Interacting with the coffee farmers was great. Today, I can say that I go back to my country happy by this fabulous experience and because I have great friends from Costa Rica!


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Ecuador
    Volunteer Abroad
    Patricia1

    Eco Volunteer Up

    A true leaning experience

    Volunteering with Eco Volunteer UP was one of the best things I have ever done. The impact that Eco Volunteer has on not just its' volunteers, but in BA and it's surrounding neighborhoods of is absolutely incredible. Everyday I woke up excited to volunteer and meet with the staff of Eco Volunteer. Each and every person on the team made me feel welcome and a part of the Eco Volunteer family. Eco Volunteer has an incredible vision, and I encourage you to jump on board.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Kenya
    Volunteer Abroad
    Sam Hemmings

    Humanity For Children

    teaching volunteering project in Kenya

    I had the incredible opportunity to volunteer with Humanity for Children starting early on-- traveling to East Africa for 8 weeks in 2007. What a humbling process it all was--a big vision with little funds, few but dedicated volunteers. Although, because of this, I was able to see first hand the development of this small, but passionate organization. I saw friendships strengthen and community cultivated, I saw empty lots turn into health clinics. I have witnessed people of different cultures, ages, races working together to improve education, health care and empower communities--learning from each other and growing as individuals along the way.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Germany
    Internship Abroad
    Nina75

    Cultural Vistas

    the most amazing internship experience in Germany

    I participated in the Cultural Vistas Internship Program in Germany during the summer of 2015. To improve my German I took one month of classes at a language school in Berlin. I then spent the next to months in a very exciting internship with Fields GmbH. My internship experience was everything I expected and more. Not only didn't I improve my German proficiency and increase my work experience, but I also made so many German friends and professional connections. I was very nervous before going on the program, but the support staff at Cultural Vistas helped me through the entire process. They also made sure to create events for networking and connecting with other participants. Throughout my experience I truly felt the support of Cultural Vistas and I am happy to say my life has changed dramatically since my time abroad.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Ghana
    Volunteer Abroad
    Patricia1

    Cultural Vistas

    Meaningful medical project with Ghana

    I volunteered in Ghana with VPWA and it was one of the best experiences I have ever had!! I undertook a 2 week medical placement and found the VPWA handbook full of all the important information that answered most of my worries and questions. However any questions I did have were answered so quickly by the staff at VPWA (even over Christmas and New Years!!). I had best time there as a medical volunteer and had great medical volunteering experiences. I\\\'ll definitely make it the next time again.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    China
    Study Abroad
    Patricia1

    Global Learning Semesters

    Great Chinese learning with Global Learning Semesters

    Global Learning Semesters is fantastic and I cannot recommend them enough!\nThe journey starts when you are greeted and picked up at the airport by a friendly and enthusiastic staff member. Everyone at Global Learning Semesters is absolutely thrilled to be in China, and it\'s hard for the feeling to not rub off! The staff will take you directly to your accommodations and make sure you are settled in properly. The best part about Global Learning Semesters is the people. They really take the time and energy to make sure you are comfortable and enjoying your stay.Chinese learning with Global Learning Semesters was a great experience.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    France
    Internship Abroad
    Vanessa

    International Internships

    Interning experiences in France

    The experience I had was so much more than I have ever imagined. I knew from the beginning that I wanted to intern in France, but I could never have had a sense of meaningfulness it would gice me with its always opened arms. It\'s expected that we say that this experience changed our lives, but I won\'t say that, because it caused me so much more... It made me thought about how I want my future to be and it made me feel things in such an intense way that I haven\'t felt in a while. I would certainly recommend interning with International Internships.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Canada
    TEFL Abroad
    Vanessa

    Easy Languages

    TOEFL in Canada with Easy Languages

    Overall this was a great experience and I would suggest it to anyone who is thinking of doing any type of similar work. This being my first time leaving the United States it was a huge culture shock but it made it so much better in the long run. You get a real sense of the people and the culture that the country is made up of that I don’t think a tourist vacation would allow you too see. I think in the future I will put more thought into what kind of work I would like to do in a trip because I learned that anything can change and become what you wouldn’t expect. If I had the opportunity I would do this program again but for a longer period of time so I had more time to see the country.TEFL experiences with Easy Languages was great.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Nepal
    Volunteer Abroad
    Sofia Alison

    Rcdp International Volunteer

    Nepal Healthcare Volunteer

    I am volunteering with this program for 4 weeks. I worked in several clinics and shadowed the medical professionals and earn a lot of experience. Although Nepal is very unorganized, the program tries to give you an organised feeling and memorable experience and they come up to all your wishes. I am happy to be part of this program and to be able to make a change in the Nepali health centers.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Guatemala
    Volunteer Abroad
    Sofia Alison

    Ifre Volunteers

    Women project in Guatemala

    I recently volunteered in Women Project in Guatemala offered by IFRE Volunteers.And I must say it is by far the most amazing volunteering trip I have ever had. being a graduate in Social work, I had always wanted to help the vulnerable societies and solve their problems and IFRE gave me that opportunity, I got to work with the vulnerable women who were abused by their families. Despite of all those trouble and tortures, the way they managed to get back on their feet and create their identity is very impressive. the experience in hostel was pretty amazing. the food and services provided was amazing. I really recommend this program if you are p-passionate about helping the vulnerable women and making a different in their life.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Nepal
    Volunteer Abroad
    Sofia Alison

    Global Crossroad

    Life reminiscing volunteering in Nepal orphanage

    I volunteered in this program for 8 weeks and it was amazing and really worth it. I volunteered in orphanage and worked with the vulnerable children of Nepal. They were very sweet and friendly. and the host family was very welcoming and loving, infact it is one of the major reason for my trip to turn out so amazing and life changing. this program is really good if you are great with children and love them.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Thailand
    Volunteer Abroad
    Patricia1

    Helping Abroad

    Volunteer in Elephant Conservation Thailand through Helping Abroad

    Hmm!!!! I am speechless of what I got to experience in this Elephant Conservation project of Helping Abroad in Thailand. The time I got to experience with those gigantic creatures was just breathtaking and enjoyable.I think the best part of this project was the support of the staff.They were very helpful and took great care of us.There were some internet connection issues during the stay in the project but that\'s okay to what i got from the overall project. Would i like to recommend this project to others???? YES!YES!YES!


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Thailand
    Volunteer Abroad
    Sofia Alison

    Helping Abroad

    Volunteer in Thailand Buddhist schools

    I had a great time volunteering for this project in Thailand. the children were so enthusiastic and well mannered. I originally applied for 4 weeks stay but ended up extending to 8 weeks as it was really enjoying it and didn't want to return back back. I had a great time teaching to students in Buddhists Temple School in Thailand and thank helping abroad for giving me this great opportunity.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    China
    Volunteer Abroad
    Sofia Alison

    Ifre Volunteers

    Panda Conservation Project

    i volunteered in this project for 4 weeks as it was the maximum duration period. my experience in this project was amazing. I had lots of fun taking care of the pandas. it is very disheartening to know that these cute creatures are being extincted. IFRE is doing a great job by conserving them and i recommend volunteers to be a part of this project and help the pandas survive.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Greece
    Languagae Abroad
    Patricia1

    Language Corps

    Teaching English in Greece through Language Corps

    Wow!!! I can't explain in words what it felt to participate in this Teaching English project of Language Corps in Greece. The sightseeing of Greece was spectacular and the teaching experience was just once in a life time. this project was located in the largest island of Greece- Crete which was a charming and beautiful location. Overall, i had a great time teaching English there and would, without doubt , recommend this program to others.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Peru
    Volunteer Abroad
    pragya

    Helping Abroad

    Volunteer in Peru

    If you want to make a difference in friendly communities, meet amazing people, experience new things and aren't afraid of a bit of hard work I would recommend this program to you. I ended up staying a further two weeks than I originally planned because I was loving it that much.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Nepal
    Volunteer Abroad
    Neil Morgan

    Rcdp Volunteers

    volunteered in an orphanage

    This was my second time volunteering in Nepal through RCDP. I previously volunteered in an orphanage in Kathmandu and wanted to return to volunteer in a hospital. I spent one week at a nearby hospital at which I mostly shadowed doctors and nurses. It was an interesting look into the healthcare system of a country other than my own. It is not interactive but you have the opportunity to talk with doctors and visit all parts of the hospital. Staying at the hostel is nice, and you have all meals prepared for you daily. Volunteering through this organization has been a nice way to learn about the culture of Nepal and meet fellow travelers!

    By: pragya
    Posted: Jul 03 2016
    great informations

    By: pragya
    Posted: Jul 03 2016
    great information


    Flag
       
    Helpful 3
  • Write Review
    review
    Nepal
    Volunteer Abroad
    Neil Morgan

    Rcdp Volunteers

    Orphanage in Nepal

    This was my second time volunteering in Nepal through RCDP. I previously volunteered in an orphanage in Kathmandu and wanted to return to volunteer in a hospital. I spent one week at a nearby hospital at which I mostly shadowed doctors and nurses. It was an interesting look into the healthcare system of a country other than my own. It is not interactive but you have the opportunity to talk with doctors and visit all parts of the hospital. Staying at the hostel is nice, and you have all meals prepared for you daily. Volunteering through this organization has been a nice way to learn about the culture of Nepal and meet fellow travelers!


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Brazil
    Volunteer Abroad
    Neil Morgan

    Institute For Field Research Expeditions

    Volunteer in an Orphanage in Brazil

    I volunteered in the Himilayas and it was AAAAMMMMMAAAZZZZZIIINNNGGGG. Staff gave me excellent support in preparation for my trip and the coordinator was great. I spent time in the monestary teaching English to Buddhists. However, they were more interested in science and mathematics. The scenery was amazing and seeing Mt. Everest from base camp was inspiring. Thanks again for the great experience IFRE.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 1
  • Write Review
    review
    Nepal
    Volunteer Abroad
    Norman Bruce

    Rcdp International Volunteer

    Volunteer in Healthcare

    I will never forget the awesome time I had in Nepal. Host families were really welcoming and caring. The Hospital we worked in provided all the possible opportunities. We got opportunity to observe and learn the medical practices in developing country like Nepal. Thank you RCDP for providing us this invaluable experience.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 1
  • Write Review
    review
    Cambodia
    Volunteer Abroad
    Neil Morgan

    Language Corps

    A Life Changing Experience

    Learning about a new culture and being a part of it rather than just observing it from the outside was a highlight for me. It is a very eye-opening experience and it's definitely worth it. It's not easy and you should be prepared for a week of hard work and learning, not an island getaway.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Nepal
    Volunteer Abroad
    Patricia1

    Ifre Volunteers

    Volunteering with IFRE in Nepal

    I am glad that I participated in teaching Buddhist monk project of IFRE Volunteers. It was an overwhelming experience and I enjoyed a lot. I found my volunteering experience very meaningful and pleasant. I was placed in a local monastery of Kathmandu where I volunteered as a teacher to the young monks. These young monks were very receptive and friendly. I recommend this program to all those who have an interest in knowing the monk culture through close observation.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Peru
    Tours And Travels
    danielpeter2014

    Taitalindo Peru Tours

    Ireally recommend you Taitalindo peru tours if you want to travel to peru

    My wife and I couldn\'t have been happier with the service and price we received from Taitalindo. They were very well organized and professional, flexible and accommodating and most importantly, Richard and Jose are great guides and people! Booking with Taitalindo was like having a personal concierge. Richard has what you are looking for and he settles requests in a timely manner. If you are going to Peru, without question, book with Taitalindo.

    By: Neil Morgan
    Posted: Jul 01 2016
    Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 2
  • Write Review
    review
    Peru
    Volunteer Abroad
    Christna

    Rustic Volunteer And Travel

    Volunteering in Peru with Rustic

    Everyone at Rustic Volunteer team was always extremely helpful and knowledgeable about any questions or concerns I had. The Spanish classes were very interactive and the teacher had a great repose with all the students. He did a superior job of teaching! The living conditions were also very good, with excellent meals and always more than enough food. The family at the family stay was wonderful!The meals were prepared with care. I'm a vegetarian and was very satisfied with all my meals. They were very accommodating to my needs. I really enjoyed my volunteer experience at the shelter. I thought I was going to work with young children and this really was a new experience. It wasn't what I expected but it turned out to be great. My flight was about one hour late arriving in Cusco and no one met me at the airport. I had to take a taxi and I was overcharged but did not realize it at the time. Perhaps let others know what they would pay a taxi if the pickup does not occur. Overall, everything was great, therefore I recommend Rustic Volunteers programs in Peru to all.

    By: Norman Bruce
    Posted: Jul 01 2016
    Thanks ! I was looking to do something in Cusco. I think there might be some program in Rustic Volunteer suitable for me.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 10
  • Write Review
    review
    Costa Rica
    Volunteer Abroad
    grantjennings

    Helping Abroad

    Costa Rica with Helping Abroad

    I was in the Puntarenas program (Jaco) and had one of the greatest experiencesof my life. My coordinator was very good and always made sure that I was being taken care of and had everything that I needed. I intend on returning again one day and would recommend this program to anyone.

    By: Neil Morgan
    Posted: Jul 01 2016
    Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay and just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 4
  • Write Review
    review
    Kenya
    Volunteer Abroad
    Krupa

    Rustic Volunteer And Travel

    An awesome Kenyan experience

    This my second time volunteering through Rustic Volunteer Travel. Rustic allowed me to cater my project to my skills and training in capacity building, health management, strategic planning. I was able to work with the coordinator on impactful development projects in Kenya (Kibera Slums, Ngong-Living Positive Kenya, and Watama-Gede Hospital). The projects themselves were very successful and were able to make direct impact with the communities. Areas of improvement can be the logistical planning; however the Country Coordinator, Jimmy Wambua, is new and has a great passion for making a quality difference. I think with more support and as he gets more experience and ground support as well as financial support from the US organization, he will be able to strengthen the program to be more effective. In overall, the experience was challenging and yet rewarding simultaneously. I was highly impressed with the Kibera Slums projects as the CBO's are highly motivated and dedicated to their community. They just need a little support in training and encouragement. I also enjoyed my experience in Ngong and working with Mary. Mary was a fantastic support and has dedicated her life to the work helping women with HIV and AIDs reassimilate into their communities through sustainable economic and healthcare opportunities. Will always cherish this experience!


    Flag
       
    Helpful 3
  • Write Review
    review
    Tanzania
    Volunteer Abroad
    zain_q

    IFRE Volunteers

    Volunteering in a Tanzanian Orphanage

    I just completed a two week volunteer abroad program via IFRE and had the pleasure of staying at Deo's in Moshi. A friend of mine and myself worked two weeks at a hospital in the area, and during that same time period we were able to join some other volunteers staying at Deo's house to go play with children at the local orphanage (which is about ~5 minute walk away). The experience has easily been one of the most rewarding experiences I have had while volunteering abroad. From the beginning, Deo and the people he has helping him out at the house make you feel like you are right at home. The bedding is comfortable, the bathrooms are clean (with hot water), and anything you need they will make the effort to produce. Currently there are two individuals who help Deo out at the house, and they take the time to help cook up 3 meals a day, and clean up your rooms regularly. In the short period of time that we have been here, they have already become like family to us. It's convenient to walk into town, there are a few local corner-mart like places right next door, and a great little bar about two blocks over. Additionally it's on a main road that you can catch the public transportation at to be in town in about 5 minutes. Deo himself will stop by fairly regularly, and he has friends throughout town that can drive you wherever you need to be. He himself is a very sociable individual who is always happy to help you out. Kilimanjaro is literally visible from the yard, and if you have a few days in the area there are innumerable opportunities to partake in various activities. Don't hesitate to work in Moshi while staying at Deo's place. It will be an experience that will stick with you indefinitely.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Nepal
    Volunteer Abroad
    wcouture

    RCDP International Volunteer

    Volunteering with RCDP

    My name is Wilson Couture and I am from Atlanta, Georgia in the United States. I volunteered for 4weeks teaching English in a monastery and completed the language and culture course through RCDP Nepal. It has been an amazing experience! I was always in communication with the coordinators for RCDP and they provided support for me whenever I needed it. They set me up with a great program and I learned so much from my time here. RCDP always had a room for me if I needed one, and so many wonderful people to talk to and interact with at the hostel. I would 100% recommend them to any traveler who is coming to Nepal- Thank you RCDP!!


    Flag
       
    Helpful 1
  • Write Review
    review
    Nepal
    Volunteer Abroad
    clouds22

    RCDP International Volunteer

    Health Volunteering in Nepal

    I would like to start out by saying this was my first trip abroad.I am currently a 2nd year medical student. I participated in the Medical trip in December of 2013.It was pretty much what I expected. This program is very different from other generic "abroad volunteer opportunities". This program isn't as "hands on" as other Brigade style projects. This program is set up for you to "observe" physicians and nurses. One of the things I enjoyed most was being able to observe some surgeries as well as assist some of the doctors in minor procedures. The biggest advantage to this program is that you are able to observe how medicine is performed in Nepal. In my opinion, it is very valuable to medical students. The procedures performed and dynamic in the hospital is very different than what occurs in the US. This program isn't for you if you expect heat, hot water or internet access. I was a little dissappointed I didn't get to stay with a "host family". In our "hostel" we had a family that lived there and prepared our meals for us. They were very friendly and welcoming. I just would have apprected a more "family" environment during my 2 week stay.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 2
  • Write Review
    review
    Guatemala
    Volunteer Abroad
    Fdele

    IFRE Volunteers

    My experience with IFRE in Guatemala

    I thoroughly enjoyed my time living and volunteering in Quetzaltenango (Xela) Guatemala with IFRE. I went by myself and had a few fears because of that, but since day 1, the IFRE staff has been extremely helpful. I am thankful to the US staff and David Ramsey for recommending Xela, it has been the project fit. Oscar was in contact with me for months prior to my arrival and kept checking on me while here. There were a few minor issues w/ space at one of my volunteer projects but Oscar very quickly found me another (AWESOME) one and remained apologetic and understanding through it all. Kyle was also of great help on my first day, showing me around and giving me tips for life in Xela. Both volunteer projects were in clinics and were absolutely fantastic. I LOVED all the people and patients I met and worked with. Very sad to leave them. Everyone always welcomed me with open arms and taught me so much about Guatemalan culture and healthcare. Lastly, my host family was amazing!! Doña Lilly and her family and other housemates really made me feel at home.They are such a sweet and funny group. The whole experience would have been lacking with them. Doña Lilly is a great and generous woman. I admire her. To top it off, the food was ALWAYS delicious. I always finished everything. Thank you IFRE and everyone involved for a wonderful and live-changing experience in Xela. I hope to be back one day!!


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Ghana
    Volunteer Abroad
    Pesce

    Global Crossroad

    Volunteering in Ghana

    I felt very comfortable here and also felt very safe. The staffs were so wonderful and I will really miss them. I always felt like I was coming home when I walked inside and I loved all of the new food that I got to try. The staff was great. I felt like they became my friends. There was always food and water for us and the house was always kept clean. They were all ready to help out and show us surrounding areas. They are all very warm and loving people. I was assigned to Good Shepherd orphanage where I taught Form 1&2 in the junior high school. I enjoyed teaching them very much. However, I think they need to organize their volunteers a bit better. Teachers seemed to leave or stop teaching once volunteers were there. This defeats the purpose of having extra help. It was everything I expected. I was given a comfortable place to stay with a project. The project description was misleading but it worked out regardless.

    By: Neil Morgan
    Posted: Jul 01 2016
    Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Nepal
    Volunteer Abroad
    Ashna_123

    Global Crossroad

    Ashna Orphanage in Nepal

    I know that some people believe that these reviews are written by staff, but I can assure you, this one is not. I'm 17 years old and I participated in Global Crossroad's Volunteer Abroad Program at Ashna Orphanage in Lamatar, Nepal. If you're in high school, I would definitely recommend going with a friend- because Nepal is unlike anything I'd ever experienced. The culture of Nepal is completely different, the language unintelligible, and the people friendly, but strange. Someone from home will help you process all that is new around you. The program itself was good- I believe it is the nature of the Nepali to not be as detailed as Westerners, so I knew very little about where I was going and where I was staying. The accommodations are by no stretch of the imagination a five-star hotel, but they are comfortable. I would definitely recommend bringing a sleeping bag and your own pillow, or a towel to cover their pillow. Though it is a volunteer program, expect to gain much more than you give. The Ashna family shares their food and home with you, expecting little in return. Just being with the kids and living the Nepali lifestyle is an experience. The setting is absolutely gorgeous, away from the chaos and pollution of Kathmandu. I would recommend bringing gifts for the kids, for they have little. You don't need to bring that much clothing, just make sure it is fairly conservative, so use that extra space in your suitcase for things like candy and chocolate, books, and games for the kids. I would definitely recommend the Ashna Orphanage experience- and the Global Crossroad staff knew what to do, so long as you asked. Ask questions, because they won't give you answers unless you delve deeper yourself.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 0
  • Write Review
    review
    Sri Lanka
    Volunteer Abroad
    nainana

    Helping Abroad

    Helping Abroad's Teaching Monks Project in Sri Lanka

    Hi I'm Hanna from Paris, I went for two weeks in Sri Lanka , in Galle , to volunteer to teach English in a Monastery. When I arrived my coordinator arranged a night at a host family who was very nice and make me feel at ease. The children were very cute , and taught me a couple of Sinhalese words. The next morning I could choose at what time the cab was going to take me to Galle. He was also very nice and made me taste different food on the way. Once I arrived , Michael - my coordinator- explained everything to me , and really made me feel comfy. I started my program the next day , the monks were very cute , and I loved teaching english to them.The people I met who lived with me were adorable , and soon we were a big family eating, living and having fun together. Leaving the monestry was a very sad moment , they brought us gifts and fruits , and made bracelets for us. It was very nice to discover the buddhist culture. And I can t wait to come back to this nice house.Michael and his family cooked very good food , and always brought us tea. He helped us when we needed it , and was like a father to us. It was so nice to be emerged in a sri lankan family , I really felt at home , and close to the culture. I have gained in confidence , and have grown up. The rooms were quite comfortable , and my roommates were very funny , especially my friend Malin. I m now leaving to Kegalle in the Mountains , and I hope my trip will be as nice as it has started.I recommend this program , but staying longer , because it takes some time to create a relation with the little monks - who can be quite naughty at the beginning - , and to take working sheets with you and exercises . I really felt like they were happy to meet me , and will stay in contact with the people and the monks I met ! Thanks for reading , Hanna Love from Paris :)

    By: Sofia Alison
    Posted: Jul 04 2016
    had second thoughts about the program but now I am too excited for this trip. thanks for the great review, it was helpful for me whether or not to choose.


    Flag
       
    Helpful 1

10 Most Popular

Login to Travellersquest

X